* KBZ-Logo-7.png


KBzine: the original kitchen and bathroom industry e-newssince 2002
28th January 2021


We strongly recommend viewing KBzine full size in your web browser. Click our masthead above to visit our website version.


English French Spanish Italian German Dutch Russian Mandarin

Roca's 'jumpthegap' design competition returns

* Roca-jumpthegap.jpgThe 8th edition of Roca's jumpthegap International Design Contest is now open for registrations.

Jumpthegap is a biennial competition launched in 2004 by bathroom brand Roca in collaboration with the Barcelona Design Centre. The aim of the contest is for architects, designers and students to showcase their talent and submit new, innovative and sustainable concepts for the bathroom space of the future.

Entrants are encouraged to use their vision and create conceptually futuristic and innovative bathroom solutions, whether it's a new product, new space or even new uses and functions for the bathroom.

This international design competition is open to students under 30 and professionals of architecture and design under 40 and offers prizes of up to £10,000.

The registration period is now open and will run until Wednesday 27th March 2019 at www.jumpthegap.net. The submission deadline is 25th April 2019 with the awards ceremony itself taking place on Thursday 10th October 2019 at the Disseny Hub Barcelona.

There are three prizes totalling £26,000 on offer to entrants. Two winning projects will be chosen and will receive a prize of £10,000 each, one in the professional category and one in the student category. There is also a special We Are Water Foundation Prize, which will be presented by the foundation (www.wearewater.org), and the winner of this will receive £6,000.

Shortlisted projects will be selected by an esteemed group of global architecture and design professionals:

* Ruy Ohtake, president, architect, Brazil
* Emilio Cabrero, general director, Design Week Mexico, Mexico
* Josep Congost, Roca design and innovation director, Spain
* Dorota Koziara, designer, Poland
* Carlo Ratti, director MIT Senseable City Lab founding & partner Carlo Ratti Associati, Italy
* Isabel Roig, executive director, BCD Barcelona Design Centre, Spain
* Murat Tabanlio?lu, architect, founder of Tabanlio?lu Architects, Turkey
* Boris Voskoboynikov, architect, leader of Vox Architects, Russia

The We are Water Foundation award will be judged separately by an equally prestigious panel:

Xavier Torras, director of the We Are Water Foundation, Spain
Low Cheaw Hwei, vice president Philips Design Asia, Singapore
Deborah Seward, director of the United Nations Information Center, Belgium.

Entries may be individual or from a group of two professionals or two students. Mixed groups are not accepted, and each person or group may participate in one project only.

Over the last seven editions of the jumpthegap contest, there have been more than 2,900 projects submitted by 20,600 participants from 134 different countries. The illustrious list of past jury members includes Ron Arad, Patrick Schumacher, Tom Dyckhoff, Marcel Wanders and John Pawson.


26th October 2018

© The KBzine 2023.
Subscribe | Unsubscribe | Hall of Fame | Cookies | Sitemap